Podcast Reviews

Ready to leave your own review?

Just click here to find out how to do it.

  • Best Piano Podcast
    March 13, 2017 by Maskm from Australia

    Tim has an obvious and infectious love for piano teaching. He interviews a variety of teachers in a down-to-earth and engaging style. I never fail to find something practical I can use in my studio.

  • My own weekly workshop
    March 3, 2017 by Lollyjane from United States

    As a rural teacher with a small studio and not much budget for attending national piano conventions, discovering Tim Topham's Creative Piano Teaching Podcasts gives me a wealth of resources weekly at my fingertips! While working around the house I can listen to interviews with nationally renowned piano teachers and receive advice and new inspiration for my teaching. I love the great topics and the amazing guests -- as well as Tim's practical and creative insight of course. I'm not normally a podcast person and I was getting overwhelmed reading too many blogs, but I find that Tim's podcasts are relevant and well worth the time it takes to listen.

  • Really useful podcast
    February 26, 2017 by Tovka365 from United Kingdom

    The podcast on Using Orff to teach rhythm using Orff contained lots of really useful suggestions for instilling a sense of pulse and rhythm with practical demonstrations. Thanks so much Tim and Vashti!

  • Brilliant - always informative
    January 4, 2017 by R2sk from United Kingdom

    Love this podcast - listen to it on my daily walks and always come back brimming with ideas.

  • Piano Safari
    December 17, 2016 by Jacinta G from Australia

    What a great insight into this new method. Julie and Katherine have so many great ideas for new beginners - technique, rote learning, sightreading - all in one place, with great resources. Thanks Tim for the podcast!

  • Julie
    November 13, 2016 by Jules Marguerite from New Zealand

    Just like every podcast so far, this one was brilliant! Every single time I listen I think YES - I CAN DO THIS! I love the fact that relatively new teachers can rub shoulders with world experts through Tim's Inner Circle and we all benefit hugely from the generously shared information. This is a melting pot of the practises of awe inspiring teachers and knowledge sharers. Thanks so much Tim.

  • What’s Not to Love?
    November 6, 2016 by yayasruru from United States

    I listen to every episode numerous times. Tim is a great interviewer. He selects fascinating guests and asks great questions. Never a dull moment, always something new and engaging. Loved the recent Lyndell Kennedy Interview!

  • Favorite podcast
    November 2, 2016 by Jennsmith222 from United States

    I have been teaching piano lessons for over 10 years and I'm so glad to have found this podcast. So much useful information. Very well produced and a great variety of topics. I listen in my car and very often utilize the links on the show notes page. I really appreciate the time and hard work that must go into them.

  • So very helpful!
    October 24, 2016 by Momof3grads from United States

    Thank you, Tim, for your podcasts! I get so much out of each one!

  • Extremely helpful!
    September 10, 2016 by bass blogger from United States

    I get a lot of great teaching ideas from Tim's podcast. Even though I'm a bass player and not a pianist, I learn a lot of strategies for my own teaching studio. Highly recommended!

  • Practically Perfect Piano Podcast
    September 9, 2016 by Isaiah Theox from United States

    Tim Topham TV is a great podcast for piano teachers, and pianists in general. I am still a piano student (but I am also teaching as well), but the ideas and music knowledge in general that you can learn from this podcast is astounding. I love listening to every episode, never have I been bored or annoyed, the interview questions are relavant and the ideas presented are simple and often easy. My one complaint is that I wish some episodes were longer! Thank you so much for the podcasts Tim, and I would recommend this podcast to any piano teacher interested in having more fun in teaching (and learning) about piano.

  • Wouldn't Miss It!
    September 8, 2016 by Green Point Piano Studio from Australia

    Tim and his podcasts are a wealth of information and inspiration. I have been watching Tim's interviews or listening to them for quite a while now and have used many of the ideas introduced by Tim and his guests in my own teaching. In particular I have used the information gained from the podcasts to teach students with ADHD and Asperger more successfully, have introduced improvisation, composition and technology into lessons to keep students keen and I have even been inspired to take another look at studying for the ATMusA. There is also great information in regards to running your business and being profitable. I would highly recommend listening to Tim Topham.

  • Every episode is a GEM!
    August 3, 2016 by Fagan Piano Studio from United States

    I've been working my way through these while driving this summer. Such a wonderful variety of topics, and Tim is such fun to listen to! I have learned so much ... found so many ideas to steal ... and feel like I've made many new friends in this industry. We are truly blessed to live in this time of such open-hearted sharing! I'm looking foward to many more great episodes.

  • Required Listening
    July 23, 2016 by Hkfuui from Australia

    Thanks Tim for opening up the possibilities for new ways of teaching piano. Every episode has given me something to either implement in my teaching or to ponder and reflect on what I am currently doing. I’ve been using Vashti’s bouncing on the beat a lot lately. I’ve rarely seen students so focussed on the beat in my 30 years of teaching. Great to have access to the minds of excellent piano teachers. Can’t thank you enough!

  • Fantastic resource!
    June 9, 2016 by BMMoon from Australia

    An invaluable resource for piano teachers! Great range of topics and guests covered.

  • Excellent !
    June 7, 2016 by Piano BLJ from Australia

    Attention all music teachers, this is a must listen resource! Save yourself time trawling through the interwebs and go straight here for info that is creative and on trend.

  • Good for a million reasons!
    April 26, 2016 by 2[$r%$@, from United States

    I just listened to your podcast with Lynnette Barney and it was fantastic. So good for a million reasons. Professional, engaging, relevant, all while maintaining a lighthearted approach. Just awesome. Thanks for all you do Tim! I hope everyone checks out your podcasts!

  • Fantastic insight
    April 4, 2016 by carlyjopo from United States

    I LOVE listening to these podcasts and applying new techniques and ideas to my studio. Everytime I listen I just feel so inspired to change things and become a better listener and teacher. Tim has excellent interviews but his personal insight is also what motivates me. Thank you for taking the time to create this material! I have 50 students and it is def. changing how I teach them.

  • Amazing Piano Teacher Info
    March 28, 2016 by Dlroehl from United States

    Tim does an amazing job keeping piano teachers up to date on the newest and most innovative teaching techniques/ ideas available! What a great way to keep my studio growing in the right direction! Thank you!

  • A Goldmine!
    March 22, 2016 by netvet from Australia

    These podcasts are invariably of excellent quality, are informative and inspirational. Tim has great guests and leads very insightful and thought-provoking discussions. I love Tim’s enthusiasm for music and teaching and his creative approaches in fostering a love of music in all students.

  • Informative, entertaining, Interesting and Honest
    March 21, 2016 by Susan Head from Australia

    Well balanced and succinct questions from Tim elicit excellent useful responses from people experienced in this diverse field of piano teaching. New ideas to try and confirmation of old - throwing out some of the old ideas as new research reveals current thinking is different. Frank and honest discussions confirm we can all learn from each other and keep on learning and evolving - So many different ways of cooking the subject revealed here - Thanks Tim!

  • Great podcasts
    March 17, 2016 by Nathaniel Jazzman from Australia

    Hi Tim, Thanks for all the effort that goes into these podcasts - what a valuable resource for teachers. I've been particularly impressed by the way that you interact with your guests and have a great knowledge of what their focus is. Keep the podcasts coming!

  • Very informative!
    March 15, 2016 by Bee Music Studios from Canada

    Your podcasts are great! I'm a piano teacher in Canada, and I must say that every teacher, parent and advanced student should listen to them. I can't thank you enough! I have learned so much! Susan McAllister-Bee, Canada.

  • Catching Up on a Great Resource
    March 5, 2016 by Pink polka-dot from United States

    I was just introduced to Tim Topham's website a couple of months ago. Now that I found his podcasts I am hooked. Forget about binge watching shows on Netflix. I'm binge listening to all these amazing interviews with wonderful teachers to improve my own studio. Thanks for making these available for FREE, Tim! They are giving my ideas & courage to improve my studio & my teaching methods. I can't recommend them enough!

  • Wonderful Podcasts!
    January 26, 2016 by DianaT. from United States

    I’m learning so much through these wonderful podcasts. They're definitely among the best online resources currently available for piano teachers. Tim has an engaging personality and does excellent interviews with his guests. Thanks Tim!

  • Very Helpful
    January 22, 2016 by The Gragg from United States

    As a student who is terrified to play before an audience, I found the podcast very helpful

  • Possibly the best piano teacher blogger today
    January 3, 2016 by 1-2/3:4;5(6)7£8&9@0 from United Kingdom

    Really helpful podcasts on a large range of aspects of piano pedagogy.

  • Technology
    December 20, 2015 by Piano sailor from United States

    I try to keep up with technology, however, it stays way ahead of my time for learning. This podcast really helped me to narrow down my time commitment by sending me to the most useful tools available. Thanks for sharing Tim

  • Ms
    December 12, 2015 by Lynda Noble from United States

    I am so happy that I found your podcast, Tim. You have been such a great inspiration, and in only one week of listening to a handful of podcasts. I so appreciate your spontaneity, quality of guests and topics. The technology podcast with Becky about Piano Maestro has lit up the faces of about 50 of my students this week…. an absolutely stellar teaching week for me, to be able to connect with young people on music and gaming. Can’t thank you enough! I have an excellent suggestion for a guest for you to interview. Should I mention it here or in private?

  • Piano Teacher
    December 1, 2015 by 42Kisses from United States

    Your timing couldn't be more perfect! I'm holding class recitals next week and unveiling Piano Maestro to my parents along with involving the parents in easy improvisation games with their children. Hoping to spread a new excitement and energy throughout my studio. Thanks for the HUGE amounts of creativity you continue to share with us!

  • Very Inspiring
    December 1, 2015 by Derza OB from Australia

    Thanks so much for sharing all your research Tim. I really love listening to your podcasts. I also love reading your blog but the efficiency of the podcast can never be underestimated! It’s the accompaniment to my dishwashing and housecleaning, I always come away from such a mundane task feeling incredibly inspired! It’s a great way to feel connected and collegial in an isolating profession and given me lots of fuel for better teaching practices, resource ideas, and lots of helpful tips and tricks. My greatest fear is that you will stop podcasting….Keep it coming! (no pressure) Thanks heaps.

  • TONS OF USEABLE info!
    November 30, 2015 by LeZorg from United States

    If you can’t make it to a Piano Pedagogy conference because it’s too expensive, too far away and you have too many students to take the time off? It’s ok! This is where you can come to get the best info from great sources. Subscribe. Take notes. Start adding these “lessons” to your lessons and you will be transformed! Enjoy! Thanks So much Tim for a FANTABULASTIC resource!

  • Excellent!!
    November 16, 2015 by Note-Orious from United Kingdom

    Really enjoyed listening to this podcast. Very informative and could tell that all the resources recommended were tried and tested by this very knowledgable music educator. Thank you!

  • Spannende Interviewpartner - Relevate Themen
    October 29, 2015 by M. Kreischer (Tromsø) from Germany

    Ich höre Tims Podcasts seit der ersten Folge und habe seit dem nie eine ausgelassen. Die Podcasts sind immer äusserst interessant, weil Tim wirklich kompetente Interviewpartner findet deren Wissen definitiv relevant ist. Tim kommt aus der Praxis und hat deshalb immer konkreten Bezug zur realen Unterrichtssituation. Prädikat: Sehr wertvoll. Weiter so!! I am listening to Tims Podcasts ever since its first episode. Never missed one! The podcasts are always very interesting because Tim invites really kompetent conversational partners owning definitive relevant knowledge. Tim has a piano studio teacher background which gives him a specific connection to the real world teaching situation. Rating: very valuable. Keep on like this!! Jeg hører på Tims podcast siden den første episoden og jeg har hørt på alle! Podcastene er alltid veldig spennende fordi Tim snakker med virkelig kompetente fagfolk som kan vise til definitiv relevant kunnskap. Tim underviser piano på kulturskole nivå og har dermed god kobling tilden reale undervisningssituasjonen. Rating: Veldig verdifull. Fortsett på den måten!!

  • Informative and fun
    October 28, 2015 by yueus from United States

    I've been looking for piano teaching podcasts, and this is great! Informative, good topics, enjoyable listening.

  • Truly a wealth of knowledge!
    October 14, 2015 by Wesee135sites from United States

    I have listened to every episode and am so amazed by the amount of valuable and usable information. Way to jump out in front in the podcast world regarding piano lessons! What a fabulous resource for teachers! The guests are obviously highly skilled and very articulate. Thank you so much!

  • Inspiring
    October 2, 2015 by Supermangino from United States

    This is a wonderful podcast for any and all music educators. I could go on and on but you should stop reading this and start listening!! Enjoy.

  • Best piano teaching podcast out there!
    September 30, 2015 by AJ in the Twin Cities from United States

    Tim offers the most innovative, creative interviews and cutting-edge information in the piano teaching scene on his podcast. He strives to give teachers a sense of community in an occupation that is often filled with solitude. I listen to each new podcast and once I’m done listening, I listen AGAIN! Worth a double take! Thanks, Tim, for all you do for this community. Your passion for teaching funnels through all of us to a multitude of students. Bravo!!!

  • timtopham
    September 28, 2015 by biking 60 from United States

    Time well spent listening to Tim's Poadcast. Great way to use my bike riding time to the fullest. ThanksTim!

  • A Great Resource
    September 13, 2015 by PaulMya from Australia

    Thanks Tim, I found some great information useful to our network. As Director of Forte School of Music, with over 4,000 students in Australia, NZ & the UK, we are always looking for new ways of engaging our teachers and students. It’s great to hear someone speak so passionately about teaching. I especially love offering children the opportunity to have exposure to “pop” music something Tim totally agrees with as well.

  • So helpful in my teaching!
    September 12, 2015 by Juudbug from United States

    I have subscribed to Tim's emails for a long time, but only recently got into listening into podcasts. I listened to the first one, and was hooked. I listen while I'm out running, and it's the best use of time! I always return with so many ideas. Our teaching styles match up beautifully, and I've learned so much by listening to these podcasts, as well as the website. I agree completely that we should always be learning an evolving as a teacher, and Tim's helping me do that. I also just purchased access to Piano Flix on Tim's website, and I'm so motivated right now. Wonderful, and I recommend to all piano teachers.

  • Inspiring & fun podcast for teachers
    September 9, 2015 by Carlooney1 from United States

    I highly recommend this podcast and all of Tim’s articles. I have fallen into piano teaching and take pains to keep learning new things and ways to inspire my students and keep them interested. I thoroughly enjoy listening to this podcast, esp. while commuting. I also really appreciate the links in the show notes. Please, keep them coming!

  • GREAT podcast!
    August 30, 2015 by amycomp from United States

    Tim's podcast is extremely informative and up to date. It's important to find information and ideas that are relevant to piano teachers TODAY, and if that's what you want, this is the podcast you're looking for!

  • Simultaneous Learning is inspired teaching!
    July 30, 2015 by Kathanmusic from United States

    The podcast with Paul Harris and Simultaneous Learning was relevant, engaging, and inspiring. I have spent this summer researching pedagogy and programs for a method that will engage and better connect with my students than the standard "Play it for me and then I will correct you" way of teaching that feels, as Paul Harris said, "Negative" and overall not highly effective in making musical connections and life long musicians. Thank you Tim for bringing Simultaneous Learning to my attention. I believe it will completely change my studio!

  • Excellent Resource
    July 29, 2015 by Hoagy77 from United Kingdom

    Packed with great ideas! Excellent Guests! Relevant to all instrumental tutors. Couldn't stop listening!

  • Great to listen to
    July 29, 2015 by vaepiano from United States

    I don't listen to podcasts, but have this one worth my time. It's interesting, full of great information I can use in my teaching and very practical. I always look forward for a new episode!

  • Interview with Paul Harris on Simultaneous Learning
    July 28, 2015 by musfram from Australia

    Insightful interview providing a wealth of information and support for piano teachers. Tim’s interview style is fresh and welcoming. Paul’s discussion about Simultaneous Learning encourages us to reflect on our current teaching practice and inspires us to continue to refine and improve our techniques. Thank you for the opportunity to engage with a leading music educator.

  • Great resource
    July 27, 2015 by Helen Eager from Australia

    Thanks for your podcasts Tim! I love your focus on a more wholesome and creative way of teaching piano: one that gets away from a purely exam centred approach and fosters learning lots of repertoire, improvisation and gaining a practical understanding of harmony et al. The episode on simultaneous learning with Paul Harris was particularly thought-provoking and inspires me to try out new ideas.

  • Time well spent.
    July 17, 2015 by HayleyJayPiano from Australia

    I finally listened to one of your podcasts on my way to work. I think it was the first one, about composition, with Daniel McFarlane. I loved it and I can't wait to head in and use some of the tips in my lessons today! I also just drove from Berwick to Glenroy and now I feel like sitting on the Monash for over an hour was time well-spent. Thank you for making the podcast and I can't wait to listen to the rest.

  • Thumbs up
    July 14, 2015 by hemingwaysbeard from United States

    I'm a musician who'd like to start giving lessons. So glad resources like this podcast are out there to help!

  • Tactics for Teaching piano students with ASD and ADHD
    June 24, 2015 by Josmusic from Australia

    Loved this podcast! Thembi has such a lovely relaxed style and clearly a great deal of experience in working with children with ASD and ADHD. I found it extremely informative and full of helpful suggestions!! Thank you both for making this available.

  • A plethora of great topics
    June 9, 2015 by BluedevilJG from United States

    This is a wonderful resource for piano teachers, the topics covered are varied and the guests are great!

  • A wealth of information for music teachers!
    May 30, 2015 by Nicky Ji from Ireland

    The episodes always have a fantastic practical and inspiring info for piano teachers. Highly recommended!

  • Amazing Resource for Teachers and Musicians
    May 22, 2015 by colinpthomson from United States

    This podcast is an amazing wealth of resources for music teachers and music students. Whether you are looking to improve your teaching, or your playing, you will find useful advice, tips and tricks, in this podcast. I always look forward to each new episode, and I know I’ll be able to find useful bits in each of them. Subscribe! You’ll be glad you did.

  • Inspirational
    April 19, 2015 by musikated from United Kingdom

    Thanks for these great podcasts, which are, as always, so helpful. Keep them coming!

  • Super helpful!
    April 3, 2015 by Paducah Pianist from United States

    I thoroughly enjoyed the podcast with Daniel McFarland and have already used the techniques on teaching improvisation with my students with great success. I found them to be easy to implement and extremely applicable. Thank you, Tim, for bringing current topics of interest to us with your blog and podcast. Looking forward to many more in the future!

  • Essential brain food for piano teachers
    April 2, 2015 by CrypticRubato from Australia

    Tim is one of the most dynamic and versatile of the new generation of music educators in his own right, but in this pilot episode he shows he can also bring out the best in those he interviews. This is sixty minutes that crackles with ideas to try, and heralds the arrival of an exciting new—and convenient—resource for professional development for piano teachers. Subscribe, make yourself a coffee, grab a notepad, and then shamelessly steal ideas for your own studio 🙂 Philip Johnston

  • Piano Improv with Christopher Norton
    March 31, 2015 by Bsy mum from Australia

    Some great tips for teachers throughout the interview and a u-can-do-it attitude. The links on Tim’s website were very useful too

  • Easy and practical tips for improvising
    March 31, 2015 by WWoodles from Australia

    Thanks to Tim and Daniel for a jam packed podcast of practical and easy to use ideas for getting students improvising with modes, some less familiar but awesome scales, bass lines, syncopation and other ideas...It was a long podcast but one I can imagine referring to ( or the notes) many times in the future.

  • 5 Reasons Why I Like This Podcast
    March 30, 2015 by Beebob Jeebo from United States

    1. There aren’t that many piano podcasts and a focus on contemporary piano teaching is even rarer. 2. Tim is a lively and engaging host. 3. He sees improvisation and creativity as essential skills right alongside reading music. 4. I’m sure he’ll include guests who address often-neglected skills such as understanding chord symbols, playing pop tunes, working out tunes by ear, accompaniment styles and the rest of the bundle of skills that go into training for the demands for today’s piano gigs. 5. It gives me insights into the Australian music teaching scene.

  • Couldn't love it more
    March 27, 2015 by Wallet Inspector from United States

    This is an awesome and very enjoyable pod that fills a yawning gap on the podcast store! I got so much out of it! Please keep it up or I will cry!!

  • Piano teaching podcast
    March 26, 2015 by Lynda Irvine from Australia

    I am a professional piano teacher and I found Tim Topham and Daniel Mcfarlane's podcast on beginning composing very informative with lots of great ideas.

  • BRILLIANT
    March 26, 2015 by RigLuvr101 from Australia

    Love this mans work! Extremely informative. Can't wait to hear what comes next!

  • Great idea!
    March 26, 2015 by Carda! from Australia

    A great initiative by Tim to start this! I’m sure it will improve teachers and students alike to improve in their playing performance!

  • Awesome stuff!
    March 26, 2015 by Anthojy from Australia

    Great teacher and fantastic podcasts. One of the best users of technology and innovation in the teaching environment 🙂

  • Wealth of information!!!
    March 26, 2015 by Septemburr from United States

    I just cancelled a paid subscription to a piano site because one hour with Tim Topham and friends gave me more useable information in a more entertaining way than a whole year at the other place. Subscribe. Now!!

  • great video on improv & composition!
    March 25, 2015 by lynnkie from United States

    These ideas I'm gonna use myself! Oh, ok, and share with students. I suggest printing up the one page "Composition Cheat Sheet" first so you can make notes on it while you're watching. There are lots of really good, simple, clear ideas that are all very modern & effective for working with teens & young adults particularly. I like Daniel's 4 different pentatonic scales as jumping off points for 4 very different moods. The he touches on the modes and gives very succinct descriptions of each; for example, "Lydian- the "SImpsons" mode- quirky." There's a lot packed into this one hour and I know I'll revisit it again. Thanx so much Tim for putting this together. Looking forward to other broadcasts.

  • Interview with Daniel McFarlane
    March 18, 2015 by CeeMKay from Australia

    I found the interview with Daniel McFarlane extremely interesting and helpful. I teach piano and found this podcast to be exactly what I needed to give me inspiration and ideas for helping students with composition. Daniel and Tim explain everything in an easy to understand style and my students will have lots of fun creating music that sounds cool!!

  • Composing with Daniel McFarlane
    March 17, 2015 by Roosmari from Canada

    A lot of information: I'll have to relisten a couple of times. But even on a first listen, lots of good ideas and stepping stones as to how to introduce composition to my students. Excellent springboard for teaching all the theory concepts that students need for exams, but don't enjoy learning about. Thank you.

×
Enjoy this video? Sign up for updates.
Click below to get notified next time I go live.